Skip to content

The Infamous Question

March 2, 2009

“What kind of music do you listen to?” This question can also be phrased as “What is your favorite band?”

Familiar responses seem to resemble phrases such as “Oh I pretty much like anything and everything, a wide range of artists.”  

Or maybe they respond with an opposition type response. To argue the point that there is not one answer. This particular argument is obvious.

“I don’t have a favorite band, I could never choose” or “I guess you could say I listen to everything from Radiohead to Mozart.”  

I have not done scientific research on this specific topic, however on the first day in class our teacher asked us basic “getting-to-know-you” questions. The last being, what is your favorite musical artist. To conclude my study I uncovered that you were unsuccessful and uncultured if you could only name two or three artists that you enjoyed. To boot the system almost all of my peers said they enjoy all genres of music…

I joined the dialogue trend that morning at 8:25 AM. However, I did not feel the need to explain to strangers how music has shaped my life and the view I hold regarding all that encompasses all creation. 

In this life I would like to research the impact of music.

Specifically, how do different regions of the world inspire different forms of music? 

…This research question is not broad by accident…



If I were to choose a song for the semester this would be it:

 

Her voice is whimsical. The two girls are twins, Alejandra and Claudia. The boy is the former Secret Machines member Benjamin Curtis. Curtis’ former band have just released a third clone album. SVIIB is a great advance for him in the music industry. Claudia and Alejandra hold the synth and guitar and use them to make their siren calls. 


bells_new_686_1bells_new_686_3

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wendy Jones permalink
    March 2, 2009 7:37 pm

    I love this. Your musical blog… for lack of better words, is frick awesome. Loved this song. Never heard it before, just like all the other amazing songs/artists you’ve introduced into our familia 🙂

Leave a Reply

