Skip to content

Jackson 5ive

April 7, 2009

42-17478986

I have admired their  music since middle school.  I was immediately attracted to the bouncy choruses and high harmonies. When I was young my family and I watched the movie about their family produced by VH1. They were fantastic dancers and worked together well on the stage. However, with each hit song that reached the American charts their family’s sacrifice increased. They were the first black teen idols to appeal equally to white audiences using Motown music. 

“Diana Ross formally introduced The Jackson 5 to the public on August 11, 1968.  Right On!, began publication in 1971, and focused heavily on The Jackson 5; at least one Jackson adorned the cover of every issue published between 1972 and 1974. Animation producers Rankin/Bass produced The Jackson 5ive, a Saturday morning cartoon that debuted on September 11, 1971 and ran for two seasons on ABC. The Jackson 5 starred in two of their own television specialsGoin’ Back to Indiana (aired September 16, 1971) and The Jackson 5 Show (aired November 5, 1972).”

Jacksonmania lasted for quite some time.

Top Five Songs:

I Want You Back/ABC/The Love You Save/I’ll Be There/Dancing Machine

Best Quality Youtube Video:

After watching this video I am still just as enthralled with Michael Jackson as I was in my younger years. At age 11 he had a voice that was able to muffle racist thoughts. His stage presence is at the same level as any adult performer. In subsequent years he was referred to as “The King of Pop.” Now his title is “Freak”. My heart hurts for the things that ocurred in his past… as well as his future. 

PN001662

PN001140

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

