Skip to content

Music Testimony.

January 7, 2010

National Public Radio use to be my main only source for attaining new artist names. I have had the “Song of the day” emailed to me for at least two years. I read Carrie Brownstein’s blog. I am subscribed to the live concert All Songs Considered Podcast. I live for those tiny desk concerts and I adore Bob Boilen.

One of my favorites. Laura Gibson is darling and I don’t know who adores her more, NPR or me.

So why should I read Paste? Or join the MySpace community? Or use last.fm or Pandora? Or subscribe to blogs like AltSounds or Stereogum? Is it necessary to read best of the Decade or Top ## Lists until my eyes began to go glassy?

Because my music naivety is growing more each day. I am in the process of applying for a magazine internship in New York City. I am applying to publications like Blackbook, Fader, Paste and the L magazine. I’m trying to be positive about the outcome of the application process but I have been worrying because people are now accepting internships due to the dwindling number of jobs. Every day in the Journalism school at the University of Missouri we discuss the decline of journalism and how it will succeed/fail in the future. Most days I walk out of lectures wondering if I have a chance of survival.

So NPR, this is not a farewell. I am just changing the status of our relationship. It is open ended, it is time to venture out and see other people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

